The Latest State To Enact Constitutional Carry


 Georgia Governor Brian Kemp has signed a set of bills into law abandoning the license and background check requirements for gun owners, permitting them to carry a gun in public, a status known as ‘Constitutional Carry’. Senate Bill 319 (SB 319) is the statewide bill enabling homeowners to carry their guns without a license or background check. House Bill 218 (HB 218) is a step that acknowledges certified weapon owners from other states and will allow them to bring guns inside the state of Georgia, a legal concept known as reciprocity.

“SB 319 makes sure that law-abiding Georgians — law-abiding Georgians, including our daughters and your family too — can protect themselves without having the permission of the state government. The Constitution of the United States gives us that right, not the government,” Kemp said.

“HB 218 ensures that individuals who are licensed to carry in another state are also authorized to do so here in Georgia.”

SB 319, called the “Constitutional Carry Act,” cleared both chambers of the state legislature by the start of April.

The step has actually amassed appreciation for supporters of Second Amendment rights.

“This isn’t a bill that’s going to create more crime. This is allowing law-abiding citizens to carry a weapon without a license in Georgia,” Senator Jason Anavitarte told Fox 5 in Atlanta. 

Critics have actually made their concerns known that the new law will lead to more violent criminal offenses in the state.

“This legislation will potentially allow individuals with a criminal history who purchase a gun through a private sale to legally carry a hidden, loaded weapon in our communities,” said Rep. Kimberly Alexander.

Georgia signs up with a host of states who now permit a constitutional bring of guns for their residents.

In March, Ohio Governor Mike DeWine signed Senate Bill 215, which permits homeowners over 21 to bring guns without authorization.

Other states with permitless bring laws are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.” – The Second Amendment to The Constitution of the United States of America

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts